Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority

STAFF REPORT

SUBJECT: Election of LAVTA Chair and Vice Chair

FROM: Michael Tree, Executive Director

DATE: July 1, 2019

Action Required

Discuss and elect a new Chair and Vice Chair of the LAVTA Board of Directors for FY20. Per the Bylaws, the Chair should represent Dublin and the Vice Chair should represent Livermore.

Background

Sections 4.03 and 4.04 of LAVTA Bylaws read as follows:

- **4.03** <u>Term of Office</u>. The Chair and Vice Chair shall serve one (1) year terms of office commencing on July 1 of each year. There shall be no limit on the number of terms that a Director may serve as Chair or Vice Chair. The Chair shall rotate among the four Members on an annual basis with a Pleasanton, County, Dublin, and Livermore sequence.
- **4.04** <u>Qualifications</u>. In casting votes for Chair and Vice Chair, members of the Board may consider the candidate's leadership qualities, ability to conduct meetings of the Board expeditiously and fairly, and willingness to represent and implement positions adopted by the Board when such positions are at variance with his/her political views, as well as any other factors deemed pertinent.
- **4.05** <u>Nomination and Election of Officers</u> Nomination and election of officers shall be carried out in such a manner and schedule as determined by the Board of Directors.

Next Steps

Per the Board's policy, the chairs of LAVTA's two standing committees are represented by the two jurisdictions not represented in the Board Chair and Vice Chair positions. Therefore, Pleasanton and the County should be the FY20 chairs of the two committees. The Chair of the Finance and Administration Committee's is currently a Pleasanton member, and Pleasanton could continue to chair this Committee. The Chair of the Projects and Services Committee is currently the Livermore member, and with Livermore rotating into the Vice Chair position, the County could move into this Committee Chair position.

Recommendation

Nominate and elect a LAVTA Board Chair and Vice Chair for FY20 in accordance with the agency's bylaws.

Submitted: